Sometimes I dream like Voltaire in Candide, that all a man needs is his garden. Then I wake up in the same world everyone else lives in and realize that while we don’t need a lot of the gadgets and gizmos society wants us to need- some of them have become pretty crucial. The one I’m talking about? The internet.

I have been without the internet for 5 months! 5! Count ’em! I haven’t been able to apply for jobs or check email every day or find out when my friends are getting together last minute and post about it on facebook. It was a drag! Not to mention not being able to answer random trivia questions, how to cook certain things, or even how to get from point A to point B. I love you Google maps! Obviously I missed my blog, too.

But now I’m back! Let’s see if I have any pictures of things I’ve been up to…

First…. my love goes out to Starbucks who gave me internet access when I really needed it. Thank you!

For my niece’s birthday I made a butterfly collage with some of the scrapbook paper I have amassed over the years. The punch is from Martha Stewart, the idea is from Ali Edwards. I got the frame at a thrift store. Whee!

For my mother’s birthday I made a lace necklace… a little more complicated than my first one, but still along the same lines. I like how it parts of it turned out. The upper part that looks like a seashell cut in half is my favorite.

And for my 2nd niece’s birthday I made a sundress out of a skirt from a thrift store. I love doing this! You find such great prints and you feel awesome recycling instead of buying new yardage. It’s tons cheaper most of the time, too. Well… depending on the thrift store, I guess. I like buying XL mens shirts in stripes. Such fun! Oh, and I made her favorite doll a matching dress, too. Cause that’s just what a good aunt does.

More to come later! I’m glad to be back.

