Life, life, life!
It’s amazing how easy we’ve got it in the modern world. So easy that when things start to tumble a bit, our whole lives kind of fall apart and we can’t keep ourselves together long enough to realize that, in all reality, this is nothing!

As many of you know, I moved from Colorado to Japan, from Japan to Colorado, did a road trip of the US, and wound up in DC, the only city I felt comfortable living in. (I later found out this was due to no building being taller than the Washington Monument.) But the truth is- I don’t live in DC. I’m not living the hip green city life I thought I’d be living. I’m in Maryland, skirting the edge of it all, driving in circles between work, friends, and home. And the work- well- let’s just say I had better work when I was 14 than this job. I enjoy being a waitress- I just don’t enjoy the people I have to serve. How mean man can be! This, in conjunction with other piled-on troubles, just got to be too much.

Some time in October my car was hit while parked on the side of the road- and the culprit tried to drive away. He didn’t get far on account of his tire falling off, so the police got his car, even though he ran for it! How could someone do this? How indecent does a man have to be to run from his own folly? I found out at work that a great many people there had done similar things- hit and runs, and they felt no remorse. What a world we live in!

So I’ve been walking for a month and a half; to and fro. My place is a bit out of the way, and it makes for long days and many activities cut short, but it did make my time feel more precious somehow, and it did force me to focus. On top of it all, I felt like I was finally getting much needed exercise, not polluting the skies with my emissions, and I wasn’t having an anxiety attack over East coast traffic or impending costs of automotive maintenance. There were other worries- rain, snow, ice, and wind, and how to carry all those things I always thought I needed before! Life got simpler. Not easier. Just simpler. And I honestly kind of liked it.

My mother, on the other hand, was feeling all my released anxiety over on her side of the Mississippi. Her child alone in DC without a car? Heaven forfend! So she came out to visit and we went car shopping- and I eventually purchased my first car. (not counting the 81 Corolla bought for me in high school, or the Avalon I just totaled that was my mother’s) So now I have a car. A 2002 Honda Accord. And all the anxiety is back. Worse- the financial anxiety of paying off this car is something akin to suffocation.
The good news is- I can get away. I can drive for miles and hide from the city. I can go to Ikea and pretend I live in a trendy little city apartment like in my dreams. And in reality- I don’t have to drive my car. When the weather is nice, I can still walk. So all is not grey.

And Monday I start a new job. It’s a slow start- a volunteer position at the Smithsonian, which I have been told will transform into a full-fledged federal position as soon as they figure out where to put me.
The urban apartment life is looking closer and closer. Here’s hoping.

So perhaps this drama coming to an end, I can get back to crafting. Wouldn’t that be nice!
I hope you all are enjoying the hints of winter, and small whisper of Christmas- and the impending warmth of Thanksgiving.

