Ooooo, Yummy!
IMG_5066

It wasn’t until I left home and attended other families’ holiday dinners that I discovered Spiced Peaches were not a traditional holiday food. In my home, however, it always graced the table on every special occasion. So now, whenever a holiday comes around and I’m miles away from home, I can’t help but feel a bit glum. I mean… you might as well forget the turkey on Thanksgiving, or the apple pie on the Fourth of July.

This year I got smart.
On my recent trip home, I asked my mom to show me how to can her magnificent spiced peaches. Canning, on its own, is a marvelous process that I can’t even begin to express my satiation with, so I won’t try- I’ll just stick to the spiced peaches. If you’re going to make a batch of these bad boys without canning them, try to do it a month or so in advance, just to get spices all leeched into the pithy peaches. Trust me, its worth the wait.

Ingredients:
1/2 C vinegar
2 C sugar (measure to taste)
1 C water
2 sticks cinnamon break into pieces
1 tsp whole cloves
Peach halves (~2 cans (10))

Directions:
Bring vinegar, sugar, water, and syrup from peaches to a boil till sugar dissolves.
Reduce heat to a simmer.
Heat peaches in syrup in about 5 min.
Let stand for 20 min.
Refrigerate in all liquid and add spices.

Enjoy the yumminess!

