Howdy folks!
Been a long time. I’ve seen my way back across the ocean, then around the US by car, and now I’m settled down in Maryland and ready to start up on all my long-missed crafts. Today I’m going to show you how to make your own rubber stamp. This little trick will save you a great deal of money when you realize how many stamps you can make all by yourself.

If you like the idea of handmade stamps that are one of a kind and you don’t feel like making them, stop by my talented friend’s Etsy site: Metronome Circus.

Step One:
img_4543
Here are the materials you needs-
Stamp Ink
Graphite Pencil
Scrap Paper
Exacto-knife (Fine blade for detailing)
White Rubber Eraser

As for the eraser- I’ve used just about everything from dollar store to Staedler, and they all work. Some last longer than others. The best material for a long-lasting stamp is a brick of white rubber actually meant for carving stamps. Mine were bought in Japan, so I’m not sure where you can buy them here.

Step Two:
img_4545
Draw out your design. As you draw, press hard with a graphite pencil to give it more transfer capabilities.

Step Three:
img_4546
Lay your design face-down on the white rubber eraser. Take out your pencil and rub it over the back of the paper, transferring the design to the eraser.

Step Four:
img_4549
Begin by cutting away the outside areas of the design. You will be cutting away everything you don’t want to show up in your final stamp- all white areas.
**Always cut at a diagonal away from the design. You want to leave the remaining rubber in the shape of a sloping mountain to allow for a steady base, otherwise you will cut into the integrity of the base.

Step Five:
You can chose to cut the stamp itself into the shape of your design for efficiency, and so that the corners of the stamp don’t ink the page by accident.

Step Six:
img_4551
Cut out all remaining interior design elements. Remember to cut at diagonals. I tend to work in small sections to remove the rubber one piece at a time in triangular shapes.

Step Seven:
Check your work. Ink your design and try it out on some scrap paper. Sometimes you’ll find a snag or a part you forgot to cut. Go back and clean up your mistakes with your knife.

Step Eight:

Decorate! Stamping can spice up anything, but I love it for making ordinary lined paper into whatever the season demands. I like simple shapes for repetition, and I especially like how this one petal stamp can either be a chrysanthemum or a cherry blossom depending on how I chose to stamp it. If I change inks I could make dandelions!

When you practice enough you’ll start to find you can do extremely fine work. Try printing out your name on the computer, go over the ink with graphite, transfer it to rubber, and start carving! You can personalize things and get good practice following lines.

Good luck!

